Do You Talk About Pain or Solutions?

17 Nov

Boot Camp U: Robyn Pettinger, Owner

I was struggling with what to write about today, then it hit me as I’m working on some job search stuff.  When talking about your business do you speak about the pains that you relieve (these can be personal and/or business) or do you go right into your solution?

A lot of people are trained to tell you what their company does, what their product/service provides and how to engage with them.  I dare you to spend one day and try only talking about the pains you address.

Take one of my favorite entrepreneurs, Robyn Pettinger.  She owns a small business, Boot Camp U.  Robyn is a great business owner because she doesn’t come out and say, “I can help you loose weight, inches and look great.”  Now, is that a side effect of her fitness programs?  Yes!  But what she does promise is that her small business can help you, “…transform your body and your life.”

I don’t know about you, but if someone offered me the opportunity to loose weight (I’d probably roll my eyes and think, “I’m sure I could handle to loose a few pounds.”) or transform my body and life, I’d choose the latter and have a ton of questions about how she does this.  Robyn speaks to the personal pains of her campers.  Throughout the Boot Camp U site she talks about having fun, taking on new challenges and even not paying the high costs associated with personal trainers.

Here’s what crosses my mind when I think of fitness:

-Is this something that is going to be fun or am I going to dread it and not want to make it a regular thing?

-Will I get bored and stop finding it challenging?

-Can I really afford a fitness program on my personal budget?

Answers to these questions are what will make me commit to giving my time, money and health to Boot Camp U over a gym, personal trainer or other fitness program.

So, think it over.  What are the pains (personal or business related) that your product/service addresses?

4 Responses to “Do You Talk About Pain or Solutions?”

  1. Dee Giles November 17, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    I get it! I like your example about Boot Camp U. This example helped me a lot!

    When someone is trying to sell me “features and benefits,” I run as fast as I can and in the opposite direction of what the sales person wants me to run.

    The problem I think is that some people struggle with talking about the pains that their company addresses instead of “features and benefits” because traditionally that is how sales has worked in the past, but not anymore.

    During my conversations, I challenge myself to use the following list of words in talking about pains: Aggravated, Angry, Annoyed, Anxious, Ashamed, Concerned, Confused, Disappointed, Discouraged, Dissatisfied, Doubt, Dread, Embarrassed, Frustrated, Irritated, Overwhelmed, Tired, Uncertain, Uncomfortable, Uneasy, Unhappy, Upset, and Worried. For example, when I am prospecting, I might say to a potential client, “This may not apply to you, but our clients often bring us in because they are disappointed that they have spent a bunch of money on document management, and it just seems like nobody is using it.” Another example that I might say is “Clients often bring us in because they are embarrassed that they have been tasked with their company’s content management project, but nothing has gotten done.” Does this help?

  2. angelakraybill November 18, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    My mission statement is “We cultivate a healthy community by strengthening the local food system and improving access to nutritious, affordable food. SFC envisions a food secure community where all children and adults grow, share and prepare healthy, local food.”

    This tells people what we do, it doesn’t necessarily tell people the problems we solve and how we can help our community. Now, the statement below tells people exactly what we’re doing and that it’s going on in our very own backyard…literally!

    From seed to table, SFC creates opportunities for individuals to make healthy food choices and to participate in a vibrant local food system. Through organic food gardening, relationships with area farmers, interactive cooking classes and nutrition education, children and adults have increased access to locally grown food and are empowered to improve the long-term health of Central Texans and our environment.

  3. Robyn Pettinger November 19, 2010 at 3:13 am #

    Those are both great comments. Dee, I like the use of those words (and the fact that they are alphabetized). I love businesses that don’t make outlandish claims. I tend to frequent businesses that offer something because that’s what they believe in, not because they are trying to make the most money. If you care about this as well, you can tell. Don’t tell me what you do, tell me where your heart is. How many companies have “heart?”

  4. Dee Giles November 19, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    Agreed, Robyn. As a matter of fact, having “a heart,” in my opinion will drive more sales in the long run anyway.

Leave a Reply

