Is Generosity Part Of Your Marketing Mix?

11 Nov

My mother always believed in “Do unto others, as you would have others do unto you.”

Too often we forget that generosity should be part of our marketing mix. In recent years, we’ve learned to stop using the hard sell techniques and start looking like industry experts. This is a good start.

But how often do you ask your prospects or clients, “Is there anything I can help you with?”

You might be surprised how far this can take you, and there probably isn’t a check box or drop-down menu in SalesForce.com for this step in your sale process. But I challenge you to ask a current customer, client or prospect this question.

Generosity can also show up in your marketing efforts when you see a prospect or client struggling. You don’t always have to ask them if you can help but you can step up and give them the help they need.

I can list numerous companies that will forever have my business due to their generosity. Not only do I give them my business, but I ask my friends, family, colleagues and even strangers to support these companies.  Yesterday, I referred a friend to Zingermans.com.  The moment of generosity I shared with them occurred more than 4 years ago, I still share that story and tell people to visit their site.

I’m pretty sure generosity wasn’t listed as a channel in their marketing strategy but they have created a lifetime customer by acknowledging that generosity is what makes them successful.

How has generosity created brand or company loyalty in your life?

One Response to “Is Generosity Part Of Your Marketing Mix?”

  1. Dee Giles November 11, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    In sales, being generous is what truly closes business and keeps it coming back!

Leave a Reply

