Do You Need A Voice To Create A Brand?

3 Nov

If you were to ask me this question in the middle of my day, when I’m in my marketing, trying to be smart zone I would tell you, “Yes, you must have a voice to create a brand.” But when I sit back and think about it, I’d have to say, “No.”

Stick with me on this one. There is a cat next door, Tally is her name. Now, whether you live at my condo complex, walk around the area for exercise, drive in front of my place or visit me you know one thing…Tally is a holy terror. Tally sleeps in the middle of the street, gets stuck in trees, sleeps on top of your car, charges at dogs being walked and is just a nuisance to everyone.

You can ask at least 20 people what they think of Tally and the answer will be almost the same, “She’s a holy terror.” So, how come Tally has created a reputation (or brand) without a voice?

It goes back to some of the basics that we all know and love.

  • Visibility: Tally is where ever you are. She’s always around and keeps her presence known.
  • Repetition: I don’t see Tally just once a day, I see her multiple times in a day and night.
  • Channels: Tally not only hangs out in the street and makes her presence known, sometimes she comes to my window and terrorizes my cats, other times she visits my patio for a nap, occasionally she wakes me in the middle of the night fighting with another cat or I can find her taking a bath on my car on a warm day. She makes her presence known and continually surprises me by how she gains my attention.

So what can we learn from Tally?

  • Actions really do speak louder than words. Tally doesn’t need to have a conversation to let the entire neighborhood know who she is. Her actions say it all. What do your actions say about you?
  • Don’t be a nuisance. There is a time and place to be present and known, and there is a time to just be quiet. Are you talking to your prospects and customers at the right time or are your just making a ruckus?
  • Sometimes it’s worth separating your voice and brand to see if they can stand alone. Strong brands and voices should be able to act separately, but combined they should be spectacular.

So, I’m off to finish up another day and hoping the cold weather might slow down the neighborhood holy terror. But I know better, she has a reputation to keep and a brand to maintain.

3 Responses to “Do You Need A Voice To Create A Brand?”

  1. Janna November 3, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    Very well said and the example fit the theme of this blog perfectly.

  2. Robyn Pettinger November 4, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    Very well put. I am looking to do these same things for my business so this is some great information. I have no shame in learning from a cat…

  3. Cribit71 November 4, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    That cat IS a holy terror. She’s sort of like that somewhat hokey commercial with the just bad enough jingle that gets stuck in your head. While not fantastic, you remember the business and products for the experience you had with their off-beat commercial. The voice is strong. But is it always the correct message you want people to associate with your business. Good to think about.

Leave a Reply

